About the Foundation

The Foundation for Mississippi History was established in 2005 to help meet the needs of a broad range of projects—from the opening of the Eudora Welty House in 2006, to the opening of the restored Old Capitol Museum in 2009, to the 2 Mississippi Museums project. The Foundation conducts fundraising efforts to help support and promote the activities, programs, projects, and purposes of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History, subject to the approval of the MDAH Board of Trustees.

The board of directors includes:

  • Dr. Luke Lampton, chair
  • Ryan Beckett
  • Kane Ditto
  • Haley Fisackerly
  • John Horhn
  • Jonathan Lee
  • Ebony Lumumba
  • Holt McMullan
  • Nora Frances McRae
  • The President of the Foundation is Katie Blount and the Secretary is Robert Benson.

The Foundation spent the previous five years concentrating its efforts in securing funds for the design, construction, and installation of exhibits in the planned Museum of Mississippi History and the Mississippi Civil Rights Museum. The new museums anchor a state history center and serve as a gateway to heritage tourism across Mississippi. These museums benefit all our citizens, young and old alike. Both public and private funding was necessary for the creation of the new museums. The Foundation committed to raising $13 million for the design, construction, and installation of exhibits as well as endowments for the new museums.

MDAH oversees the state archives, a research library, museums and historic sites, and records management and preservation programs. Funds raised through the Foundation support these programs as well as special projects of the department.

If you are interested in making a contribution to the Foundation for Mississippi History, you can do so online. If you prefer to make a donation with a check, you can complete and mail this printable donation form. For additional information, please contact the Foundation at (601) 576-6855 or by email at foundation@mshistory.net.